Documents can be uploaded to your portal via desktop or mobile app. Uploading documents is a great way to safely and securely store and share documents with your team.
In order to protect your documents from deletion, your portal allows you, your firm's managing professional and guest team members (personal or professional, subject to their portal permissions) to lock documents. When a document is locked, it cannot be deleted.
Whether the document is locked or unlocked is indicated by a lock icon next to the file name as shown below:
Unlocking permissions for locked documents
The below table shows the unlocking permissions of different team members (subject to their permissions within the portal).
If a document is unlocked, the user who locks the document owns the unlocking permissions over that file.
1. Documents uploaded via the desktop version of the portal are locked by default.
2. Completed digital forms are permanently locked and cannot be deleted.
3. Any documents uploaded within a digital form are also permanently locked and cannot be deleted.