When adding a new team member, you can choose to give them guest access. When guest access is enabled, your team member will be able to view or edit information on your account, depending on the permissions you’ve given them.
When is guest access useful?
Guest access is very handy to collaborate with your spouse or others on your finances. Similarly, you may want to give guest access to the professionals you work with - for example, your accountant before tax time - so they can help you get your finances organised.
Enabling guest access for a new team member
When adding members to your Team, choose the level of access to your portal you want the guest to have.
Once an access level is selected, a dropdown box will open with further information required.
Providing the guest's email address is mandatory when adding the person with Guest or Account access.
NOTE: Guest Access (limited access) can be customised further by clicking 'Custom' and turning on/off the View and Modify permissions as required. For more information see What team permissions are granted in Show advanced settings?
Guests who have been granted guest access to your portal will be sent an invitation email asking them to join your Team.
- If the team member does not already have a client portal, they will receive an email with a link to create a login for a restricted view (based on access permissions configured by you) of your account.
- If the guest already has a client portal, they will receive an email advising that they have been invited as a guest to your portal. They can then log in (using their existing credentials) and toggle between their own portal and a restricted view of yours through a 'Switch account' button.
Editing/Removing permissions for an existing team member
To remove or edit the permissions or guest access for a team member, simply click on the team member with guest access, click on the Permissions tab and click or unclick areas where you want to remove or grant access. You can then remove all permissions so the guest will only be able to see their uploaded docs or folders in your portal. Ensure to click 'Save' once you have set the permissions.
A guest will see sections greyed out on the portal indicating they do not have access to that account’s settings or information restricted.
For a complete removal of permissions while keeping the team member recorded in the Team section of your portal:
- Click on the team member profile
- Click on the edit icon (pencil on top right)
- In the Permission tab, untick all View and Modify options
- You can also remove the email address in the Public Details tab if necessary
To delete a team member altogether, see How do I add, edit or remove a team member?
How do guest accounts work?
What permissions are granted in 'Show advanced settings'?